List Of Holidays in USA

By | July 13, 2017

America is one of the most vibrant and very diverse countries in the world. America is the country of immigrant which is built by the migrants. Our country is made of different religion, race and color hence our country is very much diversified.

Date Weekday Holiday Name Holiday Type Where It is Observed?
Jan 1 Sunday Last Day of Chanukah Jewish holiday
Jan 1 Sunday New Year’s Day Federal Holiday
Jan 2 Monday New Year’s Day observed Federal Holiday
Jan 6 Friday Epiphany Christian
Jan 7 Saturday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox
Jan 13 Friday Lee Jackson Day State holiday Virginia
Jan 13 Friday Stephen Foster Memorial Day Observance
Jan 14 Saturday Orthodox New Year Orthodox
Jan 16 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day Federal Holiday
Jan 16 Monday Robert E Lee’s Birthday State holiday Alabama, Arkansas
Jan 16 Monday State Holiday State holiday Mississippi
Jan 16 Monday Idaho Human Rights Day State holiday Idaho
Jan 16 Monday Civil Rights Day State holiday Arizona, New Hampshire
Jan 19 Thursday Robert E Lee’s Birthday State holiday Florida
Jan 19 Thursday State Holiday State holiday Texas
Jan 20 Friday Inauguration Day State holiday DCLAMDVA
Jan 28 Saturday Chinese New Year Observance
Jan 29 Sunday Kansas Day Observance
Feb 1 Wednesday National Freedom Day Observance
Feb 2 Thursday Groundhog Day Observance
Feb 3 Friday National Wear Red Day Observance
Feb 4 Saturday Rosa Parks Day Local observance California, Ohio
Feb 11 Saturday Tu Bishvat/Tu B’Shevat Jewish holiday
Feb 12 Sunday Lincoln’s Birthday State holiday CTILMONY
Feb 12 Sunday Lincoln’s Birthday Local observance Florida
Feb 13 Monday Lincoln’s Birthday observed State holiday CTILMONY
Feb 14 Tuesday Valentine’s Day Observance
Feb 14 Tuesday Statehood Day in Arizona Local observance Arizona
Feb 15 Wednesday Susan B Anthony’s Birthday Local observance CAFLNYWI
Feb 16 Thursday Elizabeth Peratrovich Day Local observance Alaska
Feb 20 Monday Presidents’ Day Federal Holiday
Feb 20 Monday Daisy Gatson Bates Day State holiday Arkansas
Feb 24 Friday Maha Shivaratri Hindu Holiday
Feb 28 Tuesday Shrove Tuesday/Mardi Gras Local observance Florida
Feb 28 Tuesday Shrove Tuesday/Mardi Gras State holiday Alabama, Louisiana
Feb 28 Tuesday Shrove Tuesday/Mardi Gras Observance
Feb 28 Tuesday Linus Pauling Day Local observance Oregon
Mar 1 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Christian
Mar 1 Wednesday St. David’s Day Observance
Mar 2 Thursday Texas Independence Day State holiday Texas
Mar 2 Thursday Read Across America Day Observance
Mar 3 Friday Employee Appreciation Day Observance
Mar 6 Monday Casimir Pulaski Day State holiday Illinois
Mar 7 Tuesday Town Meeting Day Vermont State holiday
Mar 12 Sunday Holi Hindu Holiday
Mar 12 Sunday Purim Jewish holiday
Mar 12 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Mar 17 Friday St. Patrick’s Day Observance
Mar 17 Friday Evacuation Day State holiday Massachusetts
Mar 20 Monday March equinox Season
Mar 25 Saturday Maryland Day Local observance Maryland
Mar 26 Sunday Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaole Day State holiday Hawaii
Mar 27 Monday Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaole Day observed State holiday Hawaii
Mar 27 Monday Seward’s Day State holiday Alaska
Mar 31 Friday César Chávez Day State holiday CACO*TX*
Apr 2 Sunday Pascua Florida Day Local observance Florida
Apr 3 Monday Pascua Florida Day observed Local observance Florida
Apr 6 Thursday National Tartan Day Observance
Apr 9 Sunday Palm Sunday Christian
Apr 11 Tuesday Passover (first day) Jewish holiday
Apr 11 Tuesday National Library Workers’ Day Observance
Apr 13 Thursday Maundy Thursday Christian
Apr 13 Thursday Thomas Jefferson’s Birthday Observance
Apr 14 Friday Orthodox Good Friday Orthodox
Apr 14 Friday Good Friday State holiday 13 states
Apr 15 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian
Apr 15 Saturday Orthodox Holy Saturday Orthodox
Apr 15 Saturday Father Damien Day Local observance Hawaii
Apr 16 Sunday Orthodox Easter Orthodox
Apr 16 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance, Christian
Apr 16 Sunday Emancipation Day State holiday District of Columbia
Apr 17 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Orthodox
Apr 17 Monday Easter Monday Christian
Apr 17 Monday Emancipation Day observed State holiday District of Columbia
Apr 17 Monday Patriot’s Day State holiday Maine, Massachusetts
Apr 18 Tuesday Last Day of Passover Jewish holiday
Apr 18 Tuesday Tax Day Observance
Apr 21 Friday San Jacinto Day State holiday Texas
Apr 22 Saturday Oklahoma Day Local observance Oklahoma
Apr 24 Monday Yom HaShoah Jewish holiday
Apr 24 Monday Isra and Mi’raj Muslim
Apr 24 Monday Confederate Memorial Day State holiday Alabama, Florida
Apr 24 Monday State Holiday State holiday Georgia
Apr 24 Monday State Holiday State holiday Mississippi
Apr 26 Wednesday State Holiday Local observance Florida
Apr 26 Wednesday Administrative Professionals Day Observance
Apr 27 Thursday Take our Daughters and Sons to Work Day Observance
Apr 28 Friday Arbor Day State holiday Nebraska
May 1 Monday Law Day Observance
May 1 Monday Loyalty Day Observance
May 1 Monday Lei Day Local observance Hawaii
May 2 Tuesday Yom Ha’atzmaut Jewish holiday
May 4 Thursday Kent State Shootings Remembrance Local observance Ohio
May 4 Thursday National Day of Prayer Observance
May 4 Thursday Rhode Island Independence Day Local observance Rhode Island
May 5 Friday Cinco de Mayo Observance
May 6 Saturday National Nurses Day Observance
May 6 Saturday National Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) Day Observance
May 8 Monday Truman Day State holiday Missouri
May 10 Wednesday Confederate Memorial Day Local observance North Carolina
May 10 Wednesday State Holiday State holiday South Carolina
May 12 Friday Military Spouse Appreciation Day Observance
May 14 Sunday Lag BaOmer Jewish holiday
May 14 Sunday Mother’s Day Observance
May 15 Monday Peace Officers Memorial Day Observance
May 19 Friday National Defense Transportation Day Observance
May 20 Saturday Armed Forces Day Observance
May 22 Monday National Maritime Day Observance
May 22 Monday Harvey Milk Day Local observance California
May 24 Wednesday Emergency Medical Services for Children Day Observance
May 25 Thursday Ascension Day Christian
May 25 Thursday National Missing Children’s Day Observance
May 27 Saturday Ramadan starts Muslim
May 29 Monday Memorial Day Federal Holiday
May 29 Monday Jefferson Davis Birthday Local observance Mississippi
May 31 Wednesday Shavuot Jewish holiday
Jun 1 Thursday Statehood Day Local observance Kentucky, Tennessee
Jun 3 Saturday Jefferson Davis Birthday Local observance Florida
Jun 4 Sunday Pentecost Christian
Jun 5 Monday Whit Monday Christian
Jun 5 Monday Jefferson Davis Birthday State holiday Alabama
Jun 6 Tuesday D-Day Observance
Jun 11 Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian
Jun 11 Sunday Kamehameha Day State holiday Hawaii
Jun 12 Monday Kamehameha Day observed State holiday Hawaii
Jun 14 Wednesday Army Birthday Observance
Jun 14 Wednesday Flag Day Observance
Jun 15 Thursday Corpus Christi Christian
Jun 16 Friday Bunker Hill Day observed State holiday Massachusetts
Jun 17 Saturday Bunker Hill Day State holiday Massachusetts
Jun 18 Sunday Father’s Day Observance
Jun 19 Monday Juneteenth Local observance All except AZHIMDMPMTNDNHSDTXUT
Jun 19 Monday Emancipation Day State holiday Texas
Jun 20 Tuesday West Virginia Day State holiday West Virginia
Jun 20 Tuesday American Eagle Day Observance
Jun 21 Wednesday Lailat al-Qadr Muslim
Jun 21 Wednesday June Solstice Season
Jun 26 Monday Eid al-Fitr Muslim
Jul 4 Tuesday Independence Day Federal Holiday
Jul 23 Sunday Parents’ Day Observance
Jul 24 Monday Pioneer Day State holiday Utah
Jul 27 Thursday National Korean War Veterans Armistice Day Observance
Aug 1 Tuesday Tisha B’Av Jewish holiday
Aug 1 Tuesday Colorado Day Local observance Colorado
Aug 4 Friday Coast Guard Birthday Observance
Aug 7 Monday Raksha Bandhan Hindu Holiday
Aug 7 Monday Purple Heart Day Observance
Aug 14 Monday Janmashtami Hindu Holiday
Aug 14 Monday Victory Day State holiday Rhode Island
Aug 15 Tuesday Assumption of Mary Christian
Aug 16 Wednesday Bennington Battle Day State holiday Vermont
Aug 18 Friday Statehood Day in Hawaii State holiday Hawaii
Aug 19 Saturday National Aviation Day Observance
Aug 21 Monday Senior Citizens Day Observance
Aug 24 Thursday Ganesh Chaturthi Hindu Holiday
Aug 26 Saturday Women’s Equality Day Observance
Aug 27 Sunday Lyndon Baines Johnson Day State holiday Texas
Sep 2 Saturday Eid al-Adha Muslim
Sep 4 Monday Labor Day Federal Holiday
Sep 9 Saturday Carl Garner Federal Lands Cleanup Day Observance
Sep 9 Saturday California Admission Day Local observance California
Sep 10 Sunday National Grandparents Day Observance
Sep 11 Monday Patriot Day Observance
Sep 15 Friday National POW/MIA Recognition Day Observance
Sep 17 Sunday Constitution Day and Citizenship Day Observance
Sep 18 Monday Air Force Birthday Observance
Sep 18 Monday Constitution Day and Citizenship Day observed Observance
Sep 20 Wednesday Navaratri Hindu Holiday
Sep 21 Thursday Rosh Hashana State holiday Texas
Sep 21 Thursday Rosh Hashana Jewish holiday
Sep 22 Friday Muharram Muslim
Sep 22 Friday September equinox Season
Sep 22 Friday Emancipation Day Local observance Ohio
Sep 22 Friday Native Americans’ Day Local observance California
Sep 24 Sunday Gold Star Mother’s Day Observance
Sep 30 Saturday Yom Kippur State holiday Texas
Sep 30 Saturday Dussehra Hindu Holiday
Sep 30 Saturday Yom Kippur Jewish holiday
Oct 2 Monday Child Health Day Observance
Oct 4 Wednesday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian
Oct 5 Thursday First Day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
Oct 9 Monday Leif Erikson Day Observance
Oct 9 Monday Columbus Day Local observance Florida
Oct 9 Monday Columbus Day Federal Holiday All except AKARCADEFLHIMIMNNDNVORSDTXVTWAWIWY
Oct 9 Monday Native Americans’ Day Local observance South Dakota
Oct 9 Monday Indigenous People’s Day Local observance Alaska
Oct 9 Monday Indigenous People’s Day Local observance CA*MN*WA*
Oct 11 Wednesday Last Day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
Oct 12 Thursday Shmini Atzeret Jewish holiday
Oct 13 Friday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday
Oct 13 Friday Navy Birthday Observance
Oct 15 Sunday White Cane Safety Day Observance
Oct 16 Monday Boss’s Day Observance
Oct 18 Wednesday Alaska Day State holiday Alaska
Oct 18 Wednesday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
Oct 21 Saturday Sweetest Day Observance 13 states
Oct 27 Friday Nevada Day State holiday Nevada
Oct 31 Tuesday Halloween Observance
Nov 1 Wednesday All Saints’ Day Christian
Nov 2 Thursday All Souls’ Day Christian
Nov 5 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Nov 7 Tuesday Election Day State holiday New Jersey, Virginia
Nov 10 Friday Marine Corps Birthday Observance
Nov 10 Friday Veterans Day (observed) Federal Holiday
Nov 11 Saturday Veterans Day Federal Holiday
Nov 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day Federal Holiday
Nov 24 Friday State Holiday State holiday Georgia
Nov 24 Friday Presidents’ Day State holiday New Mexico
Nov 24 Friday Lincoln’s Birthday/Lincoln’s Day State holiday Indiana, West Virginia
Nov 24 Friday Black Friday State holiday 24 states
Nov 24 Friday American Indian Heritage Day State holiday Maryland
Nov 27 Monday Cyber Monday Observance
Dec 1 Friday The Prophet’s Birthday Muslim
Dec 3 Sunday First Sunday of Advent Christian
Dec 6 Wednesday St Nicholas’ Day Observance
Dec 7 Thursday Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day Observance
Dec 8 Friday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian
Dec 12 Tuesday Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe Observance
Dec 13 Wednesday Chanukah/Hanukkah (first day) Jewish holiday
Dec 13 Wednesday National Guard Birthday Observance
Dec 17 Sunday Pan American Aviation Day Observance
Dec 17 Sunday Wright Brothers Day Observance
Dec 20 Wednesday Last Day of Chanukah Jewish holiday
Dec 21 Thursday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Sunday Christmas Eve State holiday KS*LAMINCNDOKSCTXVA*WI
Dec 24 Sunday Christmas Eve Observance, Christian
Dec 25 Monday Christmas Day Federal Holiday
Dec 25 Monday Christmas Eve observed State holiday KS*LAMINCNDOKSCTXVA*WI
Dec 26 Tuesday Kwanzaa (until Jan 1) Observance
Dec 26 Tuesday Day After Christmas Day State holiday KSKYNCNHSCTX
Dec 31 Sunday New Year’s Eve State holiday LAMIWI
Dec 31 Sunday New Year’s Eve Observance

We have great country with great people. We celebrate variety of festival and events nation wise and state wise. Following we are sharing the complete list of Federal and state holiday in America. In case if holiday falls on Saturday then Friday will be holiday and if sunday is holiday then monday will be holiday. State holidays are the holidays in Government and public in the states but it depends on private sector to provide the holiday or not.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *